Skip links

Urgent Nationwide Rosary for America on Oct. 7

In our times that are more and more resembling the 1571 “Battle of Lepanto” being played out in various areas of society, and in numerous ways, several people and places are turning to the way that the Christian fleet at that time received the victory. In case we’ve forgotten, it was through the Rosary.

A major event for everyone will take place on Oct. 7, the very day 449 years ago that the Rosary brought victory to a badly outnumbered Christian fleet, today celebrated as the Memorial of Our Lady of the Rosary and named so because of that stunning victory. Archbishop José Gomez, President of the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops, will lead the nation in a virtual Rosary for America to seek our Blessed Mother’s intercession for this country.

He is asking the faithful “to join in this prayerful moment of unity for our country, to seek healing and to ask Our Lady, on her feast, to pray for us and help lead us to Jesus…” He hopes to unite Catholics all across the United States in this prayer “at a time when there is so much unrest and uncertainty.”

The call is out for bishops — several will be joining him from different part of the country — priests, men, women, children, families to join this virtual Rosary beginning at 12 noon Pacific time, 1 p.m. Mountain, 2 p.m. Central, 3 p.m. Eastern. This is a Lepanto moment for us.

“We are living in a moment in our culture when current events are delivered to our little screens immediately and without context. We are tempted in this moment to think that history is only a human project and to see it only through the lens of present-day values and priorities,” Archbishop Gomez wrote in a recent column about this upcoming virtual Rosary.

“To be a believer in this climate, we need to step back, see things in the light of our faith,” he noted. “God made heaven and earth and he is the ruler of nations and the Lord of history. There are not two ‘histories’ that run side by side — the one the history of nations and the other the history of salvation.”

Read more at National Catholic Register

Share with Friends: