Skip links

Four martyrs of Spanish Civil War beatified

A Vatican cardinal beatified four martyrs of the Spanish Civil War on Saturday.

Cardinal Marcello Semeraro, prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints, declared Francesco Cástor Sojo López and three companions blessed at a Mass on Oct. 30 in Tortosa Cathedral, Catalonia.

In his homily, Semeraro said: “They did not seek martyrdom, because one does not seek martyrdom, but suffers it. However, when the time came to bear their witness to Christ in blood, they did not shrink from it and embraced their cross with love.”

“Thus it is that three of them, like the leader Bl. Francisco Cástor Sojo López, suffered death by killing and one, Bl. Millán Garde Serrano, endured torture with an attitude of forgiveness towards the perpetrators and with trust in the Lord.”

An estimated half a million people died in Spain’s civil war, fought between Republicans and Nationalists from 1936 to 1939.

Among the victims of a wave of anticlerical violence were 13 bishops, 4,172 diocesan priests and seminarians, 2,364 male religious, and 283 female religious.

More than 2,000 martyrs of the Spanish Civil War have been beatified and 11 canonized. The causes of a further 2,000 candidates are under consideration.

According to his official Vatican biography, Francesco Cástor Sojo López was born in Madrigalejo, Extremadura, on March 28, 1881.

He was ordained a priest on Dec. 19, 1903. While training for the priesthood, he joined the Fraternity of Diocesan Worker Priests of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, founded in 1883 by Bl. Manuel Domingo y Sol.

He served in seminaries and colleges in Toledo, Plasencia, Badajoz, Segovia, Astorga, and finally Ciudad Real, a city in central Spain.

On Sept. 12, 1936, he was arrested, held prisoner, and then killed that night outside Ciudad Real.

Manuel Galcerá Videllet was born in Caseras, Andalucia, on July 6, 1877. Ordained in 1901, he joined the Fraternity of Diocesan Worker Priests in 1906.

He served in Zaragoza, Tarragona, Cuernavaca (Mexico), Badajoz, Ciudad Real, Rome, Valladolid, and Baeza.

Read more at Catholic News Agency

Share with Friends: